2024 AKD Initiates and Undergraduate Award Recipients Recognized

On April 19, 2024, six students were initiated into the Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) International Sociology Honor Society and sixteen students were recipients of Undergraduate Awards.

This year’s AKD initiates were Jeri’ Avery, Kaylee Boney, Mikaela Elliott, Ellin Kim, Amanda Myles, and Sabrina Wicker.

The Schermerhorn Award for a outstanding students in sociology went to Max Brown, Emma Mitchell, Feyi Rufai, and Paola Van der Linden. The Mark Lefton Award for excellence in sociological studies went to John Brewster, Alex Flores, Amanda Myles, Jaela Robinson, and Sabrina Wicker. The Stella Berkeley-Friedman Award to seniors for the highest academic achievement in the study of sociology went to Annabell Faircloth, Isaac Opoku, and Sonali Ray. The Robert C. Davis Award for demonstrated commitment to sociological studies went to Aila Saucedo, Dalene Mendoza, Max Wild, and Sierra Williams. On behalf of the Department of Sociology, congratulations on all of your outstanding accomplishments!