The Department of Sociology 2018 Achievements Award Ceremony

At this year’s Department of Sociology Achievements Award Ceremony, 15 students were initiated into the AKD Sociology Honor Society and 11 students were recipients of Undergraduate Awards. The Gene S. Uyeki Memorial Lecturefeatured former sociology student, Public Defender, and Executive Director of Workshop Houston, Jaime Herrero in “Moving from the Sociological Imagination to Social Action.” The event was followed by dinner.


This year’s Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society initiates were Vishnu Akella, Dillon Brown, Anne Bryden, Molly Bryden, Kristin Burmeister, Erin Buttars, Grace Chu, Jeffrey Hsia, Amelia Rivas, Sharmayne Schaffer, Carla Wilson, Monica Windholtz, Anna Wright, Hanna Yoshida, and Muzhen Zhang.The Schermerhorn Award for outstanding students in sociology went to MaryTherese Escueta, Sarah Jammal, and Sharmayne SchafferThe Mark Lefton Award for Excellence in Sociological Studies was awarded to Vishnu Akella, Dillon Brown, Jeffrey Hsia, and Brittany Rabb. The Stella Berkeley-Friedman Award to graduating seniors for the highest academic achievement in the study of sociology was awarded to McCoy EdmundsThe Robert C. Davis Award for demonstrated commitment to sociological studies was awarded to Erin Buttars, Victoria Hamilton, and Kevin SmithThe James Dysart Magee Award to an outstanding senior student in Social and Behavioral Sciences was awarded to Brittany Rabb.


The Peter Witt Scholarship, a highly selective honor that recognizes students of the College of Arts and Sciences whose interests are in social work, city planning, or community involvement with demonstrated leadership and engagement activities on and off campus was awarded to Mya Cox, Gabriells Kaddu, and Sierra Lipscomb.

Research ShowCASE Intersections SOURCE Symposium oral paper presentation winners in the social science were MaryTherese Escueta and Erin ButtarsErin Buttars also placed for her paper competition at the Northeast Ohio Undergraduate Sociology Symposium.

Congratulations to all of the students for their accomplishments for the 2017-2018 academic year.